Start a new topic

Is there a way to record my own game with Raptr?

I am developing a game in the Unity engine, and I wish to regularly post update videos to my youtube. I would prefer using Raptr for this, as it records at the perfect bitrate for me needs, and doesn't lower performance. Is there any way I can add builds of my game to Raptr's game list, so I will be able to record footage with the program?

Login to post a comment

I am not a developer. Raptr allows to record only the games in Library. If the game is not in the library, you can't record it. That's silly and artificial (!) limitation. Unfortunately, I can't find the post where that was stated because I can't find an old forum. Hm, I've just googled a little and it looks like old forum was deleted with all posts. Great job, Raptr!

Basically, developers (Verun) wrote that the technology allows to record any game but they allow to record only the games in library because Raptr aka AMD Gaming Evolved is primarily

a social network with AMD Recording feature, not AMD Recording App with social network feature. That means devs need to gather a lot of statistics such as game time, achievements, uploaded videos and all that [useless for me] stuff. If the game is not in library, they won't be able to do that [what a disappointment]. Also, Verun wrote that AMD Gaming Evolved is just Raptr client with AMD branding. I think you get a picture now.

I created a thread with a suggestion to add an ability to record any 3D application to Raptr here: http://support.raptr.com/support/discussions/topics/5000011907

Maybe if more people post in that thread, Raptr will add an ability to record any 3D application. However, I doubt that. My personal opinion: AMD should have developed game recording feature themselves. GVR development is in stagnation right now, not a single new major feature added during the last 6 months.